End-of-March update

The end of the school year is approaching at almost the same rate as the temperature is increasing. We have now officially finished all of our coursework and oral exams, and the only things remaining are our final exams in May. I have it easier than most, since I’m only taking five subjects this year (finished Norwegian last year), but I am still feeling overwhelmed by the sheer number of topics left to revise in the next five or so weeks.

I have recently become more than a little obsessed with bullet journaling and note organization. Bullet journaling is great because it allows you to choose what to put in your journal – like a water or meal tracker, as well as changing the design and layout from week to week. I also realized that the way I take notes for most of my subjects is not very productive, as my Chemistry notes never seem to make any sense, my Biology notes are scribbled on the side of the presentation print-outs and my Geography notes are scattered all over the place. So, I have been spending most of my Easter weekend re-writing and sprucing up my Chemistry notes. Competence in Organic Chemistry, here I come!

In other news, here’s what I’ve been up to recently…

The Mandarin ab initio second-year classes went to Shenzhen (just across the Chinese border from Hong Kong) to practice our Chinese before our oral exams. We did lots of fun things and had lots of awkward moments (asking Chinese people if we could take a picture with their kids, trying to figure out exactly to what extent we were being ripped off and asking for directions from the police – good times!).

Technology wasn’t cooperating with me when I tried to find pictures of the Mandarin ab trip, so you’ll have to wait and ask me when you see me!

This Monday, Block 1 went to Kai Tak Cruise Terminal (used to be the location of Hong Kong’s airport – the one with the really narrow runway) and was then supposed to be going to the location of the old Kowloon Walled City. Unfortunately, it started raining just as we were leaving the Cruise Terminal, so we went straight for dinner once we arrived in Kowloon City, and left Kowloon City an hour early. Although I was actually quite interested in learning more about Kowloon Walled City (the dream of any geographer), I think not wandering around in the rain was a good decision. Poor Block 2 – they went biking in the rain.

You may or may not remember that I went to Art Central with Simran last year. There is also Art Basel going on at the same time, so this year I was fortunate enough to be able to snag a free ticket to Art Basel from Wendy, LPC’s art teacher. She told us when we arrived that she had spent three hours on each of the two floors at Art Basel, and that was by just walking around without taking a close look at any of the artworks. So, of course, I didn’t get to look at all of the artworks on display. In the end, I looked at about half of the first floor and maybe a quarter of the second. The second floor was funny though – it was very obvious that the galleries there were competing to have the highest number of famous artists (I’m talking Warhols, Picassos and Monets). A very enjoyable evening spent with Gaia and Hassan – thanks to Wendy for the ticket!

Some pictures in a slideshow below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And then of course, this weekend is Easter Weekend, so Friday and Monday are days off. I’ve been laying in bed watching various comedy shows for the most part (excellent use of time!), but I’ve also been studying, exercising (first swim of the year – water was absolutely freezing!) and rewriting notes. IB exams, here we go.

Emma

PS: As part of the process of preparing for my Chinese oral exams, I had to learn a little bit about some Chinese holidays (including the myths and stories behind Chinese New Year and the Mid-Autumn festival). So I was thinking that, since most of the people reading this blog know next to nothing about Chinese festivals and stories, I would try to post some here on a semi-regular basis. Look out for these stories – the next upcoming holiday is the Ching Ming festival – 清明节 (next Monday).

Leave a Reply

