A post about a lot of things

OK, so I admit I’m not the best at updating my blog. In my defence, plenty of things have been happening over the last few weeks, and as it’s coming up to the end of the year (and the start of exams), the days are really blurring together (I had to check my calendar to see what I had to put into this blog post).

A couple of weeks ago, Belce (Turkey) and I went to see a play called The Crowd at the Cultural Centre in Tsim Sha Tsui. We went to a Turkish restaurant food (AMAZING food), then sat outside in a square which had a really nice fountain (Me and Mum found this square when she came with me to the promenade), before making our way slowly down the promenade to get to the Cultural Centre. The Crowd was a very interesting experience – it was in Mandarin, but subtitled. It was a very interesting play, but I found it quite difficult to look at the subtitles and watch what was going on at the same time. The play was about a man whose mother was killed during the cultural revolution – after 40 years, he still held a grudge against the man that killed her, and did everything he could to kill him and ruin his family. The title “The Crowd” comes from the idea that once a person is part of a crowd, their individuality and capacity to think for themselves is lost, and that that is the reason the main character’s mother was killed. A very interesting play!

The view of Hong Kong Island from TST Promenade!

The view of Hong Kong Island from TST Promenade!

Me and Belce with Hong Kong Island in the background.

Me and Belce with Hong Kong Island in the background.

The last cultural evening of the year was NACE (North American Cultural Evening) – it was absolutely hilarious! I think one of the perks to the last cultural evening of the year must be that everyone now knows each other and the school so well that everyone understands all the jokes and finds them absolutely hilarious (like Johanna being Republican and the teachers’ 67% contact time). The NACE food was great (mmmm, apple pie), and, as mentioned, the jokes were great. I have several favourite moments from the NACE play – perhaps the ultimate moments were when Gaia dragged Adam out of Judge Judy’s courtroom at the beginning of play, and when there was a collective gasp when it was revealed that Lyndon insisted on having one meat-free day a week, and only fed Johanna french fries on Sundays.

Lyndon married Johanna, who had her two fake dads (+ her real dad) walking her down the aisle!

Lyndon married Johanna, who had her two fake dads (+ her real dad) walking her down the aisle!

Adam got kicked out of Judy's (Kylie's) courtroom...

Adam got kicked out of Judy’s (Kylie’s) courtroom…

Then, the day after NACE, the SAS (Students Against Slavery) group went to the Cultural Centre in TST (that’s right – where I went to watch The Crowd with Belce), and we did an afternoon of drama activities there. While I’m all for trying to do creative things to raise awareness about issues, I found it very difficult to do so in a group where many of the people that were supposed to be performing were more interested in their phones than the issue of slavery. Such is life in the IB, I guess?

After that, everything is a bit of a blur and I don’t really know what comes in which order. But here goes:

QCs (all of our activities) are coming to an end 😦 I caught myself thinking “But it’s so early in the year to finish QCs” the other day, and promptly had to correct myself. The second-years only have one week of class left, and the first-years only have about three weeks until the exams start. That’s quite terrifying, considering the amount of revision I have to do, and the amount of practice papers I desperately need to do for Norwegian. Badminton was my first QC to finish – we had to finish two weeks earlier than other QCs due to our need for the sports hall (which was being set up for the art exhibition, which coincidentally started today). Now Choir has finished for the second-years, while the first-years are busy recruiting other first-years to join our Choir performance for graduation. Campus Ecologists and Students Against Slavery will be having their last reflection sessions this week, and then it will be study, study, study all the way until the end of term.

We had Easter Break for 3 school days – I can’t really remember what I did, but I think it was a lot of work. On Friday (two days ago) I had my Norwegian oral exams, so I was busy preparing for those as well as trying to create some maps for my Geography Internal Assessment (which is due in 8(!!!!!!!!!!!!111!!!1!!!!1!!!!!1!!!!!) days). The IB needs to give me a break.

My priorities for the Easter Break... Yes, I like to write on whiteboards.

My priorities for the Easter Break… Yes, I like to write on whiteboards.

The art exhibition was not originally going to be in this post, but I’m going to add it to this post because I am procrastinating and I intend to spend at least another 15 minutes on this blog post. It’s quite amazing how much talent we have here at the school! Each of the artists chose an underlying theme to base their exhibition pieces on, and they came together to have the collective theme of “chaos concealed”. I have a few favourite pieces, so depending on how much time I have over the week, I will stop by the gym to gaze at them (and the auction slips). If my wallet is feeling heavy, I might bid on my very favourite. All of these end-of-year events (like graduation dinner next weekend) are really letting the fact that oh-no-the-second-years-are-graduating-in-a-month sink in. Hopefully we will be able to find time to spend together before exams and graduation.

Not a piece being displayed in the art exhibition this year (although I wish it was!). It's a collaboration between Beach Clean-up and Art for Non-Artists (AFNA), highlighting the importance of keeping the oceans clean.

Not a piece being displayed in the art exhibition this year (although I wish it was!). It’s a collaboration between Beach Clean-up and Art for Non-Artists (AFNA), highlighting the importance of keeping the oceans clean.

Miren - one of the many second-years I will miss.

Miren – one of the many second-years I will miss.

Leave a Reply

