Model United Nations – Change of Pace

Yesterday was LPCMUN (Li Po Chun Model United Nations) CoP (Change of Pace) day – don’t you just love all of the acronyms we use at LPC?

Model United Nations is an activity that occurs worldwide. Last weekend, the LPCMUN group hosted a bunch of other schools’ MUN teams and competed here on campus. The basic idea is that students act as delegates for various countries and organizations in committees in the United Nations – for example the Security Council. Arguing and politics occur, and at the end the goal is to pass resolutions (as if one was in the United Nations) and determine “policy”. When representing countries and organizations, the delegates must dress formally and speak of themselves in the 3rd person – this turned out to be very entertaining as the day went on.

We also had “chairs” – their job is to control the debate and monitor the delegates. One of our chairs often said things such as: “The chair would smile upon…” (which basically meant do whatever the chair “smiles upon”). The chairs would ask the delegates if there were any “motions on the floor” – at which point one could motion for several different things – like adding oneself to the General Speakers List, setting up a Moderated or Unmoderated Caucus or proposing a resolution.

Initially I was quite skeptical of this CoP day – I don’t really agree with one Quan Cai having its own CoP day – and was unsure how much effort to put into preparing myself for it. While most CoP days require minimal effort and involve only showing up and being mentally present, the MUN CoP day requires that all the delegates prepare themselves to argue for their country’s stance. Personally, I would have appreciated having much more time to prepare myself, as I think the vast majority of students will agree with me on. Many of the issues being debated and committees being modeled were ones I had no clue about – I was representing Canada, debating the representation of China (1971) in the United Nations.

A brief summary of what happened in reality in the UN when they debated the representation of China:

  • Both the Republic of China (ROC) (Taiwan) and the People’s Republic of China (PRC) (What we now call China) claimed that there was only one governing body of China, and that they were the true government.
  • While the ROC was recognized by more states than the PRC, the majority of the General Assembly eventually voted to give the seat in the UN to the PRC, and refused the ROC a seat in the UN.

Without delving too deeply into the arguments of each side, I can say there were many opposing arguments and factors to consider when debating in the General Assembly. Although I don’t take History, I’m reasonably certain I could take an exam on the relations between China and Taiwan right now.

LPCMUN CoP day participants!

LPCMUN CoP day participants!

In the end, Canada (that’s me) ended up proposing a resolution to split the representation of China into two parts (one for the PRC and one for the ROC) along with the USSR and BSSR. Unfortunately, we needed a majority of 2/3 + 1, and we were missing two votes to be able to pass our resolution. While we were fiercely opposed by the ROC and its supporters, I still had a lot of fun and learned a lot about formal procedures and how to formulate an argument under pressure. One of the highlights of the day will definitely be trying to fit all the reasons why China should split into the PRC and ROC into a frantic 30-second speech!

The day ended nicely – I found out that I won “Best Delegate” of the Historical General Assembly, and several of my other friends (including Tegz) either won “Best Delegate” or “Outstanding Delegate” awards!

Proof that I actually can debate - to a certain extent!

Proof that I actually can debate – to a certain extent!

In other news: Magnus and I have our first firstie! From what I have seen of her Facebook profile, she looks superawesome! Magnus and I (and the other Scandies) can’t wait to meet her! We are also desperately searching for our second firstie – if that’s you, please send us a message! We don’t bite, and we can’t wait to meet you!

Also, Zayn Malik has left One Direction. Naturally, I am very saddened by this news – especially as the last concert One Direction played altogether as a band was the concert in Hong Kong last week (that I didn’t go to). The One Direction poster that hung proudly in my corner has been taken down, and I am now officially in mourning. I’m kidding. I’m not in mourning, but I AM sad.

Finally, there was music night tonight, where Cynthia and I performed a song that we also performed during Project Week, but thought we could perform better with instruments. Although the performance wasn’t perfect (compared to our rehearsals), we had plenty of fun singing together. It was really sad that this was the last Music Night of the year – Sophie and Miranda did such a great job hosting the event. I’m honored to say I’ll be hosting Music Night next year along with Ferna (Philippines).

Now the internet will cut off in approximately three minutes, so the delegate of Canada motions to end this blog post.

 

Motion passed!

One thought on “Model United Nations – Change of Pace

  1. Hey emma. Thank God I found your blog. I have been searching (frantically) all over the internet looking for an existing LPC student. My name is Temide (pronounced TAY-ME-DAY) I’m from Nigeria and I think I’m your second firstie. I’m over-excited to arrive LPC by the end of this month. A reply would answer my prayers right now.

Leave a Reply

