UPDATE FROM THE DARK SIDE OF THE PLANET

It’s been a while since I last wrote a blog post – although, to be fair, plenty has happened since the last blog post.

We finally performed A Very Potter Musical! Way back in October or November, I was cast as Draco Malfoy in a A Very Potter Musical (a parody Harry Potter musical, basically), and a couple of weeks ago all our effort became worth it! The video is not yet out, but when it is, I will make sure to post a link on my blog. A huge thank-you to Shuchi, our director, the AV team and of course my fellow actors and actresses!

ippic2

The lovely and beautiful cast.

ippic1

…You’ll probably have to watch the play to understand why Zefron is there…

Last week, there was Chinese New Year. My mother came to visit for a week, and we went out many places and did many interesting things together – like Victoria Peak, 10000 Buddhas Monastery and the IFC mall (see pictures below). It was really nice to have visitors from home; I was running low on essential food supplies, and I felt like it was about time I spoke some Norwegian.

mumpic2

10,000 Buddhas Monastery… One of the more local attractions.

mumpic3

MONKEY

mumpic1

The view of Hong Kong Island from the Avenue of Stars (Tsim Sha Tsui).

mumpic4

Mum and I on the way back to campus after I picked her up at the airport.

Now, I have four friends from Norway visiting. I hung out with them on the weekend, and have mainly been telling them what to do while I’ve been in school, although I did manage to spare some of my precious time to hang out with them yesterday (more pictures of their visit will be in the next blog post).

Mock exams are this week, and so of course I’m procrastinating massively by writing this blog post. I only have the one subject and I’m stressing out – I can’t imagine how most second-years must be feeling right now! Also, as soon as mock exams are over, we leave for Project Week. I will be going to Cambodia with Students Against Slavery, one of my regular extra-curricular activities, to spend a week in a centre for girls rescued from trafficking and sex slavery.

Just like with China Week, there is a lot of preparation work to do, and not nearly enough time to do it. I’m in the singing, Wendo (a form of martial arts), art therapy and drama therapy groups. There is more than enough work to do for each activity and, as previously mentioned, not nearly enough time to prepare as a group. I am very much looking forward to the trip though, and I hope it will be an experience I learn from and an overall good experience.

All the deadlines for applying to summer courses are rapidly approaching… It seems as though most people at least have a vague idea of what they’ll be doing this summer – whether it’s an internship, a summer course or a job, everyone seems to be doing something productive. I, of course, have no idea what I’m doing as of yet. Lots of people want to know when I’m away/home so that we can make plans, but I have to tell them all that I genuinely don’t know yet. Try asking again in a month’s time.

PS: I bought a poster of Chairman Mao the other day for 10 HKD (!!!) and it now hangs proudly above my One Direction poster. No regrets. Except that I’m missing the Hong Kong One Direction concert that’s just after Project Week. 😦

PPS: The UWC application deadline for Norwegian applicants was almost a month ago – the excited applicants should be getting their interview invitations any day now! Really looking forward to meeting you, first-years!!

Leave a Reply

