End of Term 1!

Term 1 has officially come to an end. Term finished a week ago, and I’m just getting around to writing a blog post.

The last couple of weeks of school were pretty hectic – our grades were set and handed out, and all of our QC reflections were due. A couple of last-minute assignments had to be handed in (a Biology lab and a Geography index, to name a couple). We also had the last IP (independent project, done by Theatre students) of Term 1, a tutor outing to Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery (Simran wrote a really great post about this, read it HERE) and Magnus and I went to see Ada, a Norwegian girl living in Hong Kong and going to another school.

The IP (Death and the Maiden) was absolutely fantastic – Johanna, Magnus and Viola starred as the main characters, and they all took my breath away with how fantastically they portrayed their characters. I’m pretty sure I will never be able to look at Viola in the same way again.

Magnus and I went out in the last week of term to meet Ada. It turns out that she was at the 24-hour race (Simran also wrote a really good post about the 24-hour race, that you can read HERE) when Magnus and I were there! I didn’t see her there, but Magnus did, and she then invited us to her family’s place to bake pepperkaker. Of course, we would never say no to pepperkaker or socializing with other Norwegians in Hong Kong. pepperkaker3pepperkaker2pepperkaker1

I was really looking forward to going home and having a break from LPC – it’s a really great place to be, but at a certain point one does begin to miss things you take for granted normally – like having your own room, or having a shower which has a detachable showerhead. After being away from LPC for just under a week, though, I am already missing people (and my corner)!

The wall above my bed.

The wall above my bed.

Tiffany!!!!

Tiffany!!!!

The nice thing about the end of term at LPC is that even if you’re the only LPC-er on your flight, you’ll always find someone else waiting at the airport. Viivi (Finland) and I started off at Pizza Express on our own, but within 45 minutes there were at least 7 of us gathered around two tiny tables.

I flew from Hong Kong to London with Eira, Magnus and Sophie, and then from London to Bergen alone. Altogether, the flight time is about 15 and a half hour – and that’s not including the 3.5 hours waited at Heathrow. Time passed quite quickly though – the flight from Hong Kong left at ”bed-time”, and I was in Bergen by lunch-time the next day (Norwegian time). I’ve had horrible jet-lag – I had to go to bed at 8pm the day I landed in Bergen! I then woke up at 4.30 the next day, and 5.30 the day after that. Today is the first day of the holiday I’ve woken up at a semi-reasonable time.

From left: Viola, Eira, Magnus, Anton, Viivi

From left: Viola, Eira, Magnus, Anton, Viivi

"Magmugs" at the Airport Express in Central.

“Magmugs” at the Airport Express in Central.

Eira while traveling! Real charmer.

Eira while traveling! Real charmer.

The break is already a third over and I haven’t been nearly as productive as I would have liked to have been. For Norwegian, I have to write an essay and read quite a few books – the essay is still in bullet-point format, and I have almost finished the first book on the list. I had also planned to do some Chemistry and Maths while I was on holiday, but oh well. I’ll get there in the end, I’m sure!

PS: Simran – sorry not sorry for shamelessly linking to your blog posts because I never wrote about these things myself.

Leave a Reply

