HAPPY WORLD ELEPHANT DAY & UN YOUTH DAY

Hey again

I’ve been extreeeemely busy for the last two weeks (okay, so maybe I haven’t been busy as such, but I have been lacking an internet connection good enough to post anything).

So, since my last blog post a lot has happened. I met up with the GB girls who are also starting at LPC this year, Tegz and Elise. They got up really early one day and came to meet me in Bristol. It was really nice to get to know even more people who are new to UWC – yeah, we have Facebook, but isn’t meeting face-to-face so much better? We had conversations on everything from Harry Potter to subject selection (if my memory serves me correctly, we’re all taking Geography), and even sought out Little Chinatown. Here’s a photo of me, Tegz and Elise (WOO LPC REPRESENT):

10525056_512604702204991_1138221493_n-2

 

A few days after I met up with these two lovelies, I went back to Norway but I only stayed there for a couple of days before moving onto the next event.

The Tall Ships Races 2014 was in Bergen from the 24th until the 27th of July. Emma Lea and I happened to win tickets to sail with ships from Bergen to Esbjerg, but the sailing trip is a story for another blog post…

After the Tall Ships Races, I got on a train to Copenhagen to meet Mum, her boyfriend and their respective kids. From there we flew to Rhodes and spent a week (including my seventeenth birthday and Morgan’s fourteenth birthday!!!) tanning and practicing handstands in the pool, among other things. I’m afraid the trip to Greece will also have to be in a separate blog post, because I’m really tired.

As you can probably tell, my internet connection is great now. We stayed in Copenhagen for a couple of nights after coming back from Greece (I am so sunburned it’s not even funny), and traveled back to Bergen today.

While in Copenhagen, I was walking down a street when I saw a girl with a UWC tote bag. My initial reaction was OMG WHAT, so of course I had to stay and introduce myself. The girl I met was named Hannah and had just graduated from RCN. She told me there were no people from her country that got sent to LPC in her year, but she also said that she had heard many good things about LPC, and that I had lots to look forward to.

Another weird, random thing that happened: Tomorrow I’m meeting up with Ingrid, a lovely friend from Katten (Bergen Cathedral School to people not from Bergen). We were on the same flight from Copenhagen to Bergen today, and had no idea until we had landed. How does that stuff even happen??

In other news: I am moving to Hong Kong in 17 days. Almost 16. I can officially say that I’m moving “the week after next”. It’s terrifying, but at the same time I’m SO EXCITED I CAN’T EVEN BREATHE.

Today is UN Youth Day, and I know that a blackboard has been set up on Askøy, so young people can write on it. I wasn’t able to attend the official opening today because I was on my way to the airport in Copenhagen, but I’m hoping to be able to see it before I go to the UK on Thursday. Also, today is World Elephant Day so I’m going to attach a picture of a baby elephant below. Here it is:

cute-baby-elephant-5

 

I’m going to go to bed now, so that this post actually gets published on Tuesday, not Wednesday. A big happy birthday to my cousin Jesper, who’s birthday is today.

 

Sleep tight, everyone!

One thought on “HAPPY WORLD ELEPHANT DAY & UN YOUTH DAY

Leave a Reply

